Events

from August 8, 2020 hours 18:00 to October 3, 2020 hours 19:30

Guided tours to the Tuvixeddu Necropolis

This event is related to the sections: Guided tours

A unique opportunity to discover the largest and most significant Phoenician-Punic necropolis in the Mediterranean basin

From August to October 2020, free guided tours are scheduled in the Tuvixeddu Park, the largest Phoenician-Punic necropolis in the entire Mediterranean basin.
 
Tuvixeddu park, the city of the dead, is one of the most important archaeological sites in Cagliari. 
The area was frequented from the end of the 6th century BC to the III century AD and contains 1793 tombs, mainly of the well type and with a variable depth between 8 and 3 metres. Some of them are decorated with wall paintings representing floral and geometric decorative elements. It is the only area still visible today in ancient Karaly.
 
Archaeological records has testified the frequentation of the hill from prehistoric times, from the Ancient Neolithic to the present day: burials and funeral objects, wall paintings, literature and popular anecdotes too.
 
 
Guided tours:
 
- Sunday, 8 August
- Tuesday, 11 August
- Thursday, 13 August
- Wednesday, 19 August
- Saturday, 22 August
- Monday, 24 August
- Wednesday, 26 August
- Wednesday, 2 September
- Thursday, 3 September
- Saturday, 5 September
- Monday, 7 September
- Wednesday, 9 September
- Firday, 11 September
- Monday, 14 September
- Wednesday, 16 September
- Friday, 18 September
- Tuesday, 22 September
- Thursday, 24 September
- Tuesday, 29 September
- Wednesday, 30 September
- Friday, 2 October
- Saturday, 3 October

City map
  • Tuvixeddu Necropolis

    Via Falzarego, - Cagliari

    View details

Have you liked this page?

Tell us if you have liked this page. Give us your opinion by clicking a smile. Vote is anonymous, you can express a preference for every page within 24 hours.